Win Free Coconut Oil – A Review and Giveaway from Tropical Traditions

Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil - 32 oz.Win 1 quart of Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil!

Tropical Traditions is America’s source for coconut oil. Their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil is hand crafted in small batches by family producers, and it is the highest quality coconut oil they offer. You can read more about how virgin coconut oil is different from other coconut oils on their website: What is Virgin Coconut Oil?

You can also watch the video they produced about Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil:

Tropical Traditions also carries other varieties of affordable high quality coconut oil. Visit their website to check on current sales, to learn about the many uses of coconut oil, and to read about all the advantages of buying coconut oil online. Since the FDA does not want us to discuss the health benefits of coconut oil on a page where it is being sold or given away, here is the best website to read about the health benefits of coconut oil.

Disclaimer: Tropical Traditions provided me with a free sample of this product to review, and I was under no obligation to review it if I so chose.  Nor was I under any obligation to write a positive review or sponsor a product giveaway in return for the free product. If you make your first purchase of anything from Tropical Traditions using the links on this page, you will receive a free book and I will receive a reward coupon.

If you dig into the world of natural health even just a little bit, you will soon discover that coconut oil is all the rage these days. It is used in cooking as well as in hair, skin and body care. I wanted to find out what all the hype was about so I recently started buying small jars at the grocery store. I love being able to make my own body care products like moisturizers, deodorant, and toothpaste. When I learned of a company called Tropical Traditions that is said to produce one of the highest quality coconut oils in the world and also supports small family farms, I decided to try it and see if there is any difference between that and the “store” coconut oil. I bought a 5-gallon-bucket of Green Label Virgin Coconut Oil because, even though it was a pretty big investment, the cost per ounce ($0.36) was less than half what I was spending on the coconut oil at the store ($0.85). So I bit the bullet, and boy am I glad I did!

For the purpose of this review, Tropical Traditions sent me a free sample of their Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil which is hand made (versus their Green Label, which is machine made). Let me start by saying, there is most definitely a noticeable difference between the “store” coconut oil and what I received from Tropical Traditions, both the Green Label and the Gold Label.

The first thing my husband noticed when we opened the 5-gallon bucket was how much more coconutty it smells. The texture is a bit creamier, and the taste a bit stronger.

We have used it as a food – adding it to smoothies, making chocolate candies out of it, and also putting a tablespoon or so into our coffee in the morning. It can be used for cooking, frying, and baking as well, but I do feel it’s important to diversify my healthy fats, so for now I am sticking to butter and lard for those purposes, although I’m sure coconut oil is wonderful too. We are overall pretty healthy people, so it’s hard to say after only a couple weeks, whether the coconut oil is benefiting our physical health.

I will say, the same week I started “eating” (taking?) about 1-3T per day of Tropical Traditions coconut oil, I lost 3 pounds without changing anything else about my lifestyle at the same time. And the week after that, I lost another 2 pounds. I have been gradually changing to a healthier lifestyle over the past year (with absolutely zero weight loss), so there is no scientific proof that the coconut oil is what is causing the weight loss, but it’s a pretty strong correlation. My husband also started losing weight again around the same. Hmm… I don’t think coconut oil is a weight loss miracle, but combined with proper diet and exercise, perhaps it helps.

Although coconut oil is wonderful as a food, my favorite way to use coconut oil is externally. It is so beautifully moisturizing. I use it straight on my lips and hands when they become chapped. If you read labels, you will find that coconut oil is often one of the main ingredients in natural lip and skin moisturizers. I use it to wash my face (it works!), in place of shaving cream, and to moisturize my face and body after showering. I have also put about a tablespoon into the tub while bathing (I take lots of baths), and my skin feels all soft and smooth afterwards.  I have an African American son, and I have tried so many products on his dry, ashy skin, and nothing has left him as soft, without being greasy, as Tropical Traditions Virgin coconut oil. All my kids love how smooth it makes their skin. Even my teenager is starting to get on board with it, using it on her hands and face, and is impressed with the results! There are so many  uses for coconut oil, I could go on and on, but this post would never end.

I can honestly say that there is a very noticeable difference in how well Tropical Traditions works as a skin care product versus the “store” coconut oil. I have noticed it the most on my hands. I get extremely dry, cracky hands in the winter. I had heard how wonderful coconut oil is for dry skin, so I tried it with the oil from the grocery store, and was not all that impressed. It didn’t seem to make much difference, if any. But I am noticing a difference using Tropical Traditions. My skin is softer, less dry, and no cracks.

Now lets talk about price. Tropical Traditions 5-gallon-bucket is less than half the cost per ounce of grocery store coconut oil. Even the 1-gallon bucket from Tropical Traditions is about 30 cents less per ounce. A pretty significant difference. You do have to factor in shipping. When I got mine, they were having a free-shipping promotion that I took advantage of. I don’t know how often they do those since I am a fairly new customer.

If you are interested in the price breakdown details, here they are:

Organic Unrefined Virgin Coconut Oil from Kroger (Spectrum brand):

14 ounce jar for $11.99 = $0.85 per ounce

29 ounce jar for $19.99 = $0.69 per ounce

Gold Label (hand made) Virgin Coconut Oil from Tropical Traditions:

5 gallon bucket (640 oz) for $250 – $0.39 per ounce

1 gallon (128oz) for $75 – $0.59 per ounce

1 quart (32oz) for $29.50 – $0.92 per ounce

Green Label (machine made) Virgin Coconut Oil from Tropical Traditions:

5 gallon bucket (640oz) for $229 – $0.36 per ounce

1 gallon bucket (128oz) for $69.50 – $0.54 per ounce

1 quart (32oz) for $27.50 – $0.86 per ounce

As you can see, even for as little as one gallon of coconut oil, you are saving quite a bit of money over the store brand, and in my opinion, Tropical Traditions coconut oil is so much higher in quality. I love knowing where it comes from and how it is made.

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for: the opportunity to try it for yourself, for free. Tropical Traditions is giving away one free quart jar (32oz) of their Gold Label Organic Virgin Coconut Oil to one lucky winner.

There are two mandatory requirements for entering the giveaway. Subscribe to Tropical Traditions’ E-mail newsletter, and like Eubanks Eutopia on Facebook. There are lots of other ways to get extra entries too, just follow the link to the Raffelcopter! This contest is open until midnight on April 3rd, 2013.

Rafflecopter giveaway

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Laura Wood on March 27, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    I would love to try this product as I’ve heard so much about it’s benefits but have leary of doing so due to cost and worried that I would not like it. Having a free sample and some ideas to utilize the sample would be of great benefit to me. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

    • Thanks for entering Laura! I LOVE everything about it, and it can be much cheaper to make body care products than buying commercial products from the store. :) Good luck!

      Reply

    • Posted by Becky on March 29, 2013 at 5:40 pm

      Just getting to the age of some aches and stiff joints sometimes. I would love to be able to try some good coconut oil for that as it was said this works better even externally. I wouldn’t have thought it made a difference.

      Reply

  2. I have tried several brands of coconut oil, but not this one. i would LOVE to try it :-)

    Reply

  3. Posted by T.G. on March 29, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    Thank u soooo much for this giveaway opportunity,love ur extensive review,especially about the weight loss and the price breakdown,wow,one of the best yet! :) My Hubby and son have this fungal skin condition that I think coconut oil would help with,so i’d love to try it there as well…Omg,mouth is literally watering,i’d love to win a jar!!! :) my daughter bought a 16 oz jar months ago just to try it,for use in her hair,i tasted it and just went crazy,so fresh and delish,i’ve loved coconut anything since i was a little girl,but now,it’s down to a dab in the jar :( I also have been giving our nine year old kitty some on my finger,and she loves it sooo much,i could definitely use a huge jar and/or gallon! I’ve been nursing the last little bit,but it’s almost gone :( Thank u so much and have a happy Good Friday and Easter,God bless <3

    Reply

  4. Posted by Courtney Tucker on March 29, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    Here is my Facebook Share link, thank you!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Courtney Tucker on March 31, 2013 at 1:57 am

  6. Posted by kyra m on April 1, 2013 at 1:03 am

    hope to win, love coconut oil

    Reply

  7. Posted by Nicole on April 6, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    Would love to try this product! I have been here so much about its benefits but would like to try it before I purchase it. Thank you for this!

    Reply

  8. Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of
    the issues. It was truly informative. Your site is useful.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  9. This page definitely has all the information I
    wanted concerning this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    Reply

  10. It locks the protein in your hair so your hair won’t lose protein so easily, thus keeping it silky and dazzling with glow. Apart from being a healthier option than other cooking oils, food cooked in coconut oil is tastier as well. People use it for excess weight loss, hypothyroidism, hair care, skin care, anxiety relief, maintaining cholesterol levels, improve immunity, proper digestion, relief from kidney issues, heart disease, substantial blood pressure, diabetes, dental treatment, bone power, join issues and cancer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 558 other followers

