From The Kitchen: Preserving Fresh Peppers

Last summer I bought a bunch of jalapenos from a local farmer’s produce stand thinking I would make a bunch of salsa with my hundreds of tomatoes. Well, that didn’t happen. The whole 5-kids thing sometimes trumps my love of … anything else, including homemade salsa. So after they sat in my fridge for a while, I decided not to let (anymore of) them rot, so here is what I did:

1. cut the tops off, scrape the seeds and vein’s out (leave them in if you like it hot!)

2. dump into a food processor

3. process lightly (don’t want pureed peppers, just chopped)freeze jalapenos

4. spray an ice cube tray with whatever oil spray you use

5. put a tablespoon or so of chopped pepper into each cube

6. freeze

7. dump frozen pepper cubes into a baggie and store in the freezer.

There you go, easy peasy way to preserve fresh peppers. Then when you need, say 1 jalapeno for a recipe, or maybe a couple for salsa, just grab a cube or two. They’re already chopped up and everything.

I still have them in the freezer. In fact, I have used them often in this recipe for homemade refried beans in the slow cooker. Yuuuuummmmm!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 557 other followers

